Leon County Commission Welcomes Rick Minor, Other Officials

Leon County Commission Welcomes Rick Minor, Other Officials

On Tuesday, November 20th, the Leon County Commission swore in three returning commissioners and one new member.

Rick Minor, who won his race in August to represent District 3, was the only newly elected commissioner. Minor works as the CEO of the Second Harvest of the Big Bend. He is also a former chief of staff for city of Tallahassee Mayor John Marks.

“On primary election day I was greeting voters at the polls and some of them would say, do good, make it count. And now that I’ve won the election, it’s really impressed on me to make it count,” said Minor.

Minor is replacing former Leon County Commissioner John Dailey, who was recently sworn in as mayor of Tallahassee. 

Also sworn in Tuesday were Commissioner Bill Proctor, who won re-election on November 6th, and Commissioners Kristin Dozier and Nick Maddox. Dozier and Maddox were re-elected without opposition.

Proctor has served District 1 for twenty-two years. His election, which he won with 57% of the vote, means he will serve for another four years. 

After the swearing in ceremony, commissioners unanimously selected Commissioner Jimbo Jackson as chairman and Commissioner Bryan Desloge as vice chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.