City Commission Approves New Appointments to Airport Advisory Committee

City Commission Approves New Appointments to Airport Advisory Committee

The City Commissioners approved nine appointments to the Airport Advisory Committee at their meeting today, reducing the size of the committee from 18 to nine members.

The Airport Advisory Committee advises the City Commission and the Tallahassee International Airport Management on airport operations as well as economic development opportunities related to the airport.

The Commissioners voted to reduce the size of the committee from 18 to nine members in January 2020. According to the January 29 Commission meeting agenda, the large size of the 18-member committee had made it difficult to coordinate meetings and meet quorum requirements.

The revised Bylaws took effect in April 2020.

“The approved composition changes required sunsetting the current Committee and restructuring the new Committee under the framework of the revised Bylaws,” staff reports.

The appointees were recommended by the Mayor and the City Commission.

The appointees are:
• Katrina Tuggerson – Term Expiration: June 30, 2024
• William Hudson, Jr. – Term Expiration: June 30, 2024
• Bill Peebles – Term Expiration: June 30, 2024
• Michael McDougall – Term Expiration: June 30, 2024
• Monesia Brown – Term Expiration: June 30, 2024
• Sue Dick – Term Expiration: June 30, 2023
• Fred Flowers – Term Expiration: June 30, 2023
• Kevin Graham – Term Expiration: June 30, 2023
• Bennett Napier – Term Expiration: June 30, 2023

Appointments will take effect today.

8 Responses to "City Commission Approves New Appointments to Airport Advisory Committee"

    1. Sean Pittman used to display his portrait of himself and his Law Firm in the TSA area of the airport … Prime advertising space.

      I doubt if he paid for that space, but when Mayor Marks was in office it was free rein for Pittman and another local Law Firm, Parks and Crump, to take advantage. That is what you call poor leadership when the mayor and the airport director allow cronies to promote themselves and pay no revenues for the prime advertising space.

      I believe it is called theft and I’m still waiting for the report of their contracts where they were paying for that space.

  1. City of Tallahassee Mayor pro-tem Dianne Williams-Cox must resign immediately as we cannot have a leader who posts on her Facebook account that the president of our United States is “The Virus.”

    There would be rioting if a city leader had posted that about President Obama. Whoever our president is our leaders should show respect for the office and this is a terrible message to send to the citizens and our children.

    Fellow Commissioners should denounce this Facebook post by Diane Williams-Cox or they should resign also.

    What say you Mayor Dailey?

  2. Can you find out who made the recommendations for each appointment and whom they are related to or work?
    This will enable us to get the corruption list ready for these people. And follow the contracts.
    And is there any board in tallahassee/Leon county sue dick isn’t on? Chamber or not this is ridiculous.

    1. Comm. Bryant – Katrina Tuggerson (CRA Advisory Chair)
      Comm. Williams-Cox – William Hudson, Jr. (VP, FAMU Student Affairs)
      Comm. Matlow – Bill Peebles (Florida Municipal Electric Association)
      Comm. Richardson – Michael McDougal (Florida Dept. of Transportation, Chamber)
      Mayor Dailey – Monsesia Brown (Lobbyist, Walmart)
      At-Large – Sue Dick (Chamber President, Lobbyist)
      At-Large – Fred Flowers (Attorney)
      At-Large – Kevin Graham (FSU, Chamber Board)
      At-Large – Bennett Napier (Nonprofit Manager, Chamber Board)
      Commission Liasion – Mayor Dailey

      At-Large members are recommended by Dailey, meaning Mayor appoints 5 out of 9 members.

      This follows bylaw changes earlier this year. Previously, 18 members from a number of organizations (Visit Tallahassee, FSU/FAMU/TCC, etc.) made up the Board but appointees were concentrated under the Mayor’s office in January 2020, citing difficulty achieving a quorum.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.